Nobel Peace Prize To Pope Francis Would Be A Travesty!


Anura Guruge, June 8, 2013.

by Anura Guruge

Related posts:
>> Continues with calls for prayer — Aug. 20, 2014.
>> Francis’ nephew — Aug. 19, 2014.

>> Francis abandons prayer … — Aug. 16, 2014.

>> Francis’ health … — June 18, 2014.
>> Francis mortality … — Aug. 19. 2014.

++++ Search on ‘pope‘  & check Category ‘Religion‘  for loads of other pope related posts >>>>


Pope John XXIII (#262) receiving the Balzan Prize for Peace, Humanity and Fraternity, an Italian variant of the Nobel, on May 10, 1963, from the President of Italy, at the Vatican, 3-weeks ahead of his demise on June 3, 1963. Click to ENLARGE. This will make you smile.

There are 4 very good and clear reasons as to why populist (but ineffective) Pope Francis (#267) should NOT get the Nobel Peace Prize for 2014.

1. His efforts, initially centered around prayer, for peace in the Middle East & Syria/Iraq have NOT worked, in the slightest.

2. In mid-August, i.e., just 6 weeks ago, Francis, one way or another, backed MILITARY ACTION against ISIS when he realized that his prayers were useless.

3. There are still some serious, unanswered questions about his actions during the Argentinian ‘Dirty War’, in the 1970s, when he was the Head Jesuit in Argentina.

4. No previous pope has been a recipient, and IF St. John XXIII (#262) did NOT get the Peace Prize (and he was who helped JFK in defusing the Cuban Missile Crisis), this pope, who so far as done diddly other than grandstand does NOT deserve it.

To be fair, even St. John Paul II (#265), who did so much (and secretly spent BILLIONS) to bring down communism, first in his native Poland and then in the USSR, had a better claim. Francis has done NOTHING tangible. Just sound bites for the media.

At least Barack Obama, when he got it, was trying to be an anti-war President (though that has since changed).

That Al Gore was the 2007 recipient was a joke — many such faux pas committed by this Norwegian cabal.

Of course some very worth luminaries have received the award and MY favorites, apart from, of course Nelson Mandela (1993), Desmond Tutu (1984), Martin Luther King (1964), Bl. Mother Teresa (1979) and , are the two 1976 ‘Irish Ladies‘ (and I will confess, I had to look up their names because it has been 38 years) — Betty WilliamsMairead Corrigan. Of course there are others and I am all in favor of the likes of: Anwar Al-Sadat (1978), Lech Walesa (1983 — a stand-in surrogate for John Paul II), Mikhail Gorbachev (1990), Aung San Suu Kyi (1991), Frederik Willem de Klerk (1993), John Hume (1998) and Jimmy Carter (2002).

I don’t think the (then) Dalai Lama deserved it. Like this pope he is but all talk — and no trousers (in his case, quite literally).

There have been years when the Nobel Peace Prize was
NOT AWARDED — even as recently as 1972.

The other years include: 1967, 1966, 1956, 1955, 1948, 1939 – 1943 [i.e., during WW II and as such they avoided giving Winston Churchill the prize as he so richly deserved], 1932, 1928, 1924, 1923, 1918, 1914 – 1916 [WW I — with the ‘Red Cross‘ getting it in 1917].

There should also be NO Nobel Peace Prize in 2014.

That would be fair — with so many wars and unrest in progress. 


About Anura Guruge

See 'The Blogger' on my blog.
%d bloggers like this: